top of page
Search

A year's reading

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, December 2020; written by Ann Marie Meiresonne.


The years end is time when I review my personal reading challenge and to plan on my 2021goal. Goal setting helps to keep the focus but for me not the end all if I don’t reach it. For 2020 I did not make a number goal but still kept track of titles, 25, not counting picture books. This year I may keep track of those titles too, as it is fun to read over the list.


In developing my list I asked my co-workers for a suggestion of a “you have to read this book”. Browsing the new collections of the library plus using the online catalog to look up titles as well.


Adult non-fiction has 338 titles listed with some great possibilities. Starting with Breath: The new science of a lost art by James Nestor. I understand the awareness of my breathing helps in exercise and in anxiety control, so I am willing to get this one read to see if I learn something new.


Laughter Yoga: daily practices for health and happiness by Madan Kataria could add some of that necessary laughter into the day after a full year of drama in 2020. Worth looking at.


Olive the Lionheart: lost love, imperial spies, and one woman's journey into the heart of Africa by Brad Ricca. A redheaded Scotswoman who at the age of thirty embarks on a treacherous journey through Africa to find out what happened to her fiancé is the description that put this true 1910 story onto my list. Especially as I have known of local tales of women from Scotland in the early 1900’s embarking on adventures, I am intrigued.


In Praise of Walking: a new scientific exploration S.M. O'Mara may be worth reading about a practice I already engage in.


Monopolized: Life in the Age of Corporate Power by David Dayen sounds challenging but perhaps insightful considering where we find ourselves at the beginning of a new year.


As my family watches many documentaries on archaeology, Incredible archaeology: inspiring places from our human past by Paul Bahn looks to be full of great pics and information on new to me sites.


I read more children’s fiction than adult due to my job but it is good to review what is available and interesting so I began with using our online catalog to do an advanced search on New Book Fiction. I found When we were young and brave by Hazel Gaynor, historical fiction, set in China during WWII, available in both adult fiction and large print fiction. Intriguing.


Book 15 of the Irish Country Book series by Patrick Taylor, An Irish Country Welcome of which I had not realized there was a new addition to this series.


A most English Princess: a novel of Queen Victoria's daughter by Clare McHugh looks to be good for those fans of The Crown on Netflix and Victoria on PBS.


In the children’s collection I have had Front Desk and the sequel Three keys by Kelly Yang suggested by both kids and adults. A funny, heartwarming story about immigrant rights in all the best ways. Must be good if it is enjoyable and pertinent to the current national conversation.


In children’s Dozens of Doughnuts by Carrie Finison, and Margaret’s Unicorn by Briony May Smith.


If you wish to browse come on in, we are open Monday through Saturday 10am to 6pm. Or use our Online Catalog to browse and place a hold. Not sure how? Call us at 225-3331 or watch our video on our Ketchikan Public Library YouTube Channel entitiled Placing a hold in our online catalog.



Related Posts

See All

Patience and Fortitude

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, April 2020; written by Pat Tully Two stone lions stand guard outside the New York Public Library at Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street in Manhattan. In the

The work of the library

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, December 2020; written by Pat Tully In the recent Emilio Estevez movie The Public, a young woman says to a librarian, “I’d love to get paid to read al

Classic best-sellers

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, September 2020; written by Pat Tully Now that the days are getting shorter, it is time to stock up on books for the winter. The following authors have

bottom of page