top of page
Search

Fear and trembling at Wearable

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, January 2018; written by Pat Tully


I came to Ketchikan in January 2017, and attended my first Wearable Art Show a month later. The Friday and Saturday performances were sold out, so I went to Thursday’s Gala. The evening was not rainy, but it was quite cold. I had a lot of time to think about the weather because, thinking to get a good parking space, I arrived at Ted Ferry an hour before the doors opened.


At 7pm we were admitted, and I warmed up and settled down to enjoy the show. What an amazing display of avant-garde creativity! “How did they get the idea for this?” “What’s it made of again?” “How did they get it to stay together?” Not being an artistic person, I found it impossible to imagine coming up with one of these wondrous creations.


One year later …


A few months ago, UAS Library Manager Kathy Bolling suggested a library entry for Wearable Art. “We usually participate every few years, and we’re due,” I was told. Kathy was to be the organizer and creative force, joined by Caitlin Jacobsen from the Kayhi Library, and Rebecca Jackson, Lisa Pearson, Shawna Carter, and Rebecca Fama from the Public Library, most of who have performed in previous Wearables.


And me--the cheechako.


Kathy chose the music and theme. All that was left for the rest of us to do was create an appropriate outfit and learn the runway routine. Thereafter were weeks of indecision and angst—“What should my costume be?” “What materials can we use?” “Will it stay together?” Thanks to the Friends of the Library, Rendezvous Thrift Store, a healthy yarn stash, and Kathy, I cobbled together an outfit. I started by sewing, crocheting, decoupaging, and Velcro-ing, and ended with the glue gun. The result was somewhat messy, but in a large group it just might do.


Next we needed to develop and learn the routine.


I am not a dancer. As a teenager I did a little Irish step dancing—long before Riverdance made it popular. I was good in practice but far too nervous to perform well in public. And that was decades ago.


So when rehearsing for Wearable my mantra was, “Keep it as simple as possible! I don’t want to fall off the stage!” Thankfully, Kathy and the group kept it simple. I have been listening to the music again and again and practicing the steps—crossing my fingers that my mind will not go blank during a performance.


And, so far …


As of this writing, the 2018 Wearable Art Show has not yet begun. By the time you read this, it will be in its final day. As nervous as I am, I am nonetheless excited and proud to be a part of this Ketchikan tradition!


Related Posts

See All

So long ... and thanks for all the fish

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, January 2023; written by Pat Tully For those of you unfamiliar with the works of Douglas Adams, this column’s title is a book in his series The Hitchh

Being resourceful

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, November 2022; written by Pat Tully This past Tuesday, First City Libraries--a partnership between the Ketchikan Public Library and the Ketchikan Gate

Strategic planning

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, September 2022; written by Pat Tully This Tuesday, September 20 at 6pm, the Ketchikan Public Library will hold a public meeting to present the results

bottom of page