top of page
Search

New non-fiction favorites

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, October 2015; written by Kelly Johnson.


One of the wonderful things about working at the library is if I am in need of a break and the weather isn’t lovely I can go out and wander through the stacks. Even if I don’t have the time to read a novel I can still find something to look over, something interesting or funny or creative or different, especially in the non-fiction shelves. I never get through those shelves without at least one book to look over – if not half a dozen. This last week the pickings in the new non-fiction shelves were especially rich and I thought I would share some of them with you.


The first book that caught my eye was Improbably Libraries: A Visual Journey to the World’s Most Unusual Libraries by Alex Johnson. This small, interesting shaped book is full of pictures of libraries of all types. I loved the images of the animal libraries – from burros to camels to elephants a wide variety of animals are utilized around the world as book mobiles for challenging terrains. I was inspired by the tons of different tiny free libraries (like the ones that our Outreach librarian maintains!) that seem to exist in nearly every city, in all different shapes, utilizing all different materials. I especially enjoyed the Bucherwald miniature library created from tree trunks, with the bark still on and holes in the wood holding about 100 books and the KnihoBudka (book booths) in Prague that are recycled phone booths and include a bench for folks to sit and read. Also promising are the library boats of rural Bangladesh and the Library boat for Lao Children which not only borrow out books but have onboard staff that encourages learning and literacy in remote villages. Oh, and so many more, anyone who loves libraries, or creativity or architecture, or recycling will love paging through this wonderful book.


The next book I pulled was about physics, but before you get the idea I grabbed a huge textbook-y thing I must tell the title – Geek Physics: Surprising Answers to the Planets Most Interesting Questions by Rhett Allain. And to be honest, I wouldn’t have glanced long except for the first line on the back of the book “Would Superman be able to punch someone into space?” And I realized they REALLY meant Geek Physics! Continuing my perusal I found in the contents things including chapter two: Superheroes, chapter four: Star Wars and chapter eight: Crazy Estimations, yeah, I was totally going to have to keep this one for a while. Once I got more into the book I found that there were other non-geeky questions too like can you cook a turkey by dropping it (yes, from 142,000 meters or just over 88 miles, but it would burn) and what’s the steepest gradient for a road bike (over 20% and it’s better to walk), but I have to admit I found Captain America physics more interesting. So, if you are a physics fan or just a geek, you might want to check this one out – once I’m done with it!


Further on in the section I reached the crafts area, lots of interesting stuff is always there and the holidays are coming. Since I like to make at least some of the gifts I give I checked out the section and found Hot Knots: Fresh Macrame Ideas for Jewelry, Home and Fashion by Kat Harmann. While the book includes the expected plant hangers and macramé owl it also covers the most delicate earrings, a gorgeous ring, cute t-shirt makeovers and more. It also includes clear instructions with pictures and diagrams of all the knots used in the different projects. If you have a macramé owl in your past you may find your hands yearning to make these creations too.


Finally I find a lovely cook book – one of my favorite types of books to page through. However, I am well past the cookbook section (yes, there were several wonderful ones there, but this one was better) I am in the travel section and I have found Eating Rome: Living the Good Life in the Eternal City by Elizabeth Minchilli. I adore these types of books that not only wander you through a city (or a region or the whole USA) by way of the food and not only tell of the wonderful places to eat and how to eat there, but also share recipes so you can have at least that much of the experience yourself. Mrs. Minchilli generously gives information not only concerning restaurants, but also markets, gelaterias, bakeries and her own pantry so to better help you stock your own. It could have a few more pictures, I am a picture person when it comes to cookbooks, but it is none the less a lovely read. And so I invite you to come in to the library on a rainy day and see how many wonderful finds you can discover – Good Reading!

Related Posts

See All

Eisner Award winners

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, August 2021; written by Kelly Johnson. For those of you unfamiliar with the world of graphic novels you may not be aware that there is a very special

Graphic novels, 2021

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, April 2021; written by Kelly Johnson. There has been an interesting trend in graphic novels recently, standard novels are being reintroduced to the wo

Favorite cookbooks

Originally published in the Ketchikan Daily News, February 2021; written by Kelly Johnson. I have heard about armchair travelers all my life, folks who read about far away places and enjoy the sensati

bottom of page